you're reading...
Biking, General, redefining

My fear of Biking Part 2: The first bike ride!

This past weekend, I took advantage of the beautiful weather and went for a bike ride with fellow blogger Alison.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m terrified of biking into the city, but am determined to get over this fear.

In short – It was wonderful.  Scary at times, but wonderful.  And I managed to stay on the bike the whole time. I took a bunch of pictures, so I think the best way to tell this story is through the pictures.

Beginning the ride into DC

Capital Bike Share made it super easy to pick out a bike for the day.

From the road, onto the trail. We took the Custis Trail from Arlington into DC/Georgetown. It was a beautiful ride with lots of trees. The hills were awful though...

About to cross into DC! Part one of conquering the fear is complete as I reached the goal of getting to the city. And it only took about 30 min or so (which is pretty good for this out of shape biker!)

Traffic in Georgetown made me very glad of two things: 1. I do not own a car. 2. I did not try to conquer the fear of biking in traffic that day.

Frozen Yogurt makes the ride back seem more doable.

End of the ride, proud to have gotten over part of the fear of biking :)

Ali celebrates a ride well done. And only taking a small spill. And convincing me that it's not scary.

So basically, the ride was great.  I’m not up to riding to work in the mornings just yet, but I’m up for more bike rides into the city on weekends!  Aside from the pounding I took from pollen-infested air, I came out of the adventure unscathed and with more energy than I knew what to do with. A good day, I’d say :)

For more biking goodness, head over to our Twitter to follow our live Tweet of the Women’s Cycling Forum starting at 2pm!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “My fear of Biking Part 2: The first bike ride!

  1. Way to go Lisa! You totally rocked that bike ride. :)

    Posted by aalford1 | March 20, 2012, 10:49 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Holy Six Months, Batman! « Redefining Eco - June 12, 2012

  2. Pingback: Roll into Spring with Capital Bikeshare | Redefining Eco - February 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

