you're reading...
Climate Change, Events

Olympic Hopefuls

In case you’ve been out of touch with news media lately, the Olympics are happening. The Olympics are maybe one of my favorite things to watch on TV.  I love the shock and surprise of commentators when someone unexpected wins, the scramble to find their story, and the general feeling of people becoming great.

One of my absolute favorite parts of the Olympics is watching the parade of nations.  Watching these tiny delegations walk into the stadium with tears in their eyes and pride all over their faces is amazing.  I get goosebumps thinking about it.  And this year, watching the three countries walk in who sent their first women athletes was amazing (I had to watch on youtube later because NBC was only interested in showing the big name countries).

I have to admit that I felt a twinge of sadness as I watched Maldives walk in.  I couldn’t help but think that maybe this could be their last Olympics.  And the brush off comments by the commentators that they were the lowest country in the world didn’t help.  This is important! This country will likely be the first casualty of climate change.  The juxtaposition of the reminder of climate change and the massive amounts of plane trips and energy that went into putting on the Olympics didn’t escape me either.

I hope that in four years, the Maldives will walk into the stadium in Rio with the pride of knowing they did something to stop climate change.  And I hope we can share that pride with them.

For more on the Maldives check out this review of the film Island President.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

