you're reading...
Food

Carrots, Celery, and CSAs

Vegetable Garden

This summer, a few of my co-workers and I are going to split the cost of a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share from Earth Spring Farms.  For less than $10 a week per person, we are going to have a box of fresh, local, vegetables delivered to us from a farm in Pennsylvania.  I’m really excited because in Washington DC it’s hard to get lunch for less than $10 a day, and here I will have a bounty of fresh veggies to chose from – just waiting for me at work every week.

My husband and I also signed up for Hometown Harvest to deliver fresh produce to our door once a week – now I will have fresh fruit and veggies for the both of us waiting for me when I get home – without the hassle (and emissions) of driving all over town to different farmers markets or grocery stores.

Interested in signing up for a CSA – or just want to find a local farmer’s marker?  Local Harvest has a great website that connects you to the food closest to you.

Over the summer I’ll give you all updates on the awesome experience I have with Hometown Harvest and Earth Spring Farms – but until then…. asparagus is in season, so grab a bunch and dig in!

Discussion

One thought on “Carrots, Celery, and CSAs

  1. How’s your experience so far this season? Have you had a chance to try the new local products? 🙂

    Posted by homeharv | May 3, 2013, 10:32 am

Leave a Reply

